Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Blog Tour: Because of the Sun by Jenny Torres Sanchez + REVIEW - 4.5 stars

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 8:00 AM 0 comments
Jenny Torres Sanchez
JENNY TORRES SANCHEZ is a full-time writer and former English teacher. She was born in Brooklyn, New York, but has lived on the border of two worlds her whole life. She lives in Orlando, Florida, with her husband and children. For more information about Jenny just click on her picture and you will be taken to her website!

Title: Because of the Sun
Genre: This book is a genre of its own
Author: Jenny Torres Sanchez
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication: January 3rd 2017
Cover Rating: 5/5

Because of the Sun is a unique book told in three parts. The first part is before the accident. The second part is after the accident. And the third part is a whirlwind of a lot of things. Past, present, pain, sorrow, happiness, agony, insanity and, most important of all, healing. 

Dani is the opposite of her mother. She works her ass off to be that way. I found myself really connecting with Dani and her pain. She really wanted to hate her mother for all the horrible things she had done. But, in the end, she couldn't hate her mother and I am so glad she couldn't because it made her a stronger person. 

While I'm sitting here, trying to figure out what points in the book to remark on, I realized that the book is fragmented in my head. There are many events(Paulo, his abuela, Shelly, abuse, school, movies, etc) that feel far away and pointless while others seem to drive the story and get in your face. But I can't piece out the book like that because ALL of these things, no matter how trivial they might seem, made the book what it was. They made Dani who she was and who she was becoming. Sometimes even the tiniest things have a big impact.

I went into this book thinking it was going to be a diverse read. For some reason my brain just thought the main character wasn't a white female. And while the protagonist isn't diverse in race, the book more than makes up for that with the plot and side characters. 

When you read the synopsis for this book it makes it seem like The Stranger plays a HUGE roll. Dani fought to get the book. Yes, she did read it throughout the story but it was always something in the background. It's not exactly a bad thing I just thought it would be more prevalent because of the way it was mentioned in the synopsis.

Abuse.... Let's discuss this. Abuse is horrible no matter what form it comes in. Sometimes, I feel like it's genetic with how many people because abusers after being predisposed to it. I mean, it really could be genetic if you look at it as a mental illness. Regardless of whether it is genetic or not, it is still something that is swept under the rug, hidden behind bedroom doors and whispered about between housewives that know it is happening to someone they know. Most abusers have a trigger and the most common trigger is alcohol. But there are people who are just so wicked that they don't need an external source to elicit the screwed up side of them. 

The past seems to always come back to haunt you. Sometimes, it's not even your own past. It's the past of someone you love. Someone you are close to. And it's not fair that you have to face another person's past. Something you had nothing to do with. But you do it because there is no way around it. Dani had to face her mother's past but her mother wasn't even brave enough to face it herself. Shelly had to face her demons. Demons that her own mother stood up to. So Ruby, Dani's mother, seemed to be the odd one out. 

The ending of this book was beautiful and so sad but I believe Dani and Shelly will finally be okay. They have a long road of healing ahead of them but they are strong and have each other to lean on.

Overall, I gave the book 4.5/5 stars.






*Disclaimer* - I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review that would be used on a blog tour. All opinions are my own.

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

REVIEW: Forever, Again by Victoria Laurie - 5 stars

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 3:00 PM 0 comments
Title: Forever, Again
Genre: YA Paranormal Mystery
Author: Victoria Laurie
Publisher: Hyperion
Publication: Decemmber 13th 2016
Cover Rating: 3/5

Ahhhh! (Yes, I am aware that is totally unprofessional but come one people, reviews are supposed to be about how you felt!!) I loved this damn book. Yes, I said damn. I am quite aware of this. The synopsis made the book sound like it was just some murder-mystery that some teenage individuals were going to try and solve. Yes, it was sort of like that but it was also so amazing and paranormal and really fricken awesome. 

So we have Lily, Cole, Amber and Ben. Amber and Ben were murdered in 1985. Lily and Cole are somehow connected to Amber and Ben and they are trying to solve their murders. Those characters and the murder are pretty much the main focus of the book. Then you have some horrible snotty psychotic grandparents and a cheating dad, a pregnant secretary and BAM a book fit for a Lifetime TV movie. I think I will leave it at that. 

***Spence's situation with his dad and trying to protect his mother and sister hit a little too close to home. Listening to the excuses he made about why they keep his dad around are excuses I remember giving to the same questions. No one really understands abuse in a family unless they have lived through it. This situation made me so sad. Then what happened, and hearing that Spence still cared so much about someone who made his life miserable was painful. Spence seemed like a really amazing guy.*** This was written while I was still reading the book. Then everything went down and I was just kind of sitting here dumbstruck by the stuff that happened and what Spence ended up doing. Spence knew how nasty his mother was. I have no idea why he would want to take such risks for someone so horrible. I thought maybe the abuse made her that way but I think she was always like that. I  also have some suspicions about Spence's father and his mothers involvement in that little scenario. 

Strangely enough, the book did not end how I thought it would. You know how people can just guess the killer or the bad guy within a few minutes of reading the plot? This book didn't have the predictability. I actually really loved the ending. I do still have a few questions like if the Bennetts weren't actually involved in any of the incidents then why did the grandmother do what she did with the salon? She wasn't the nicest person. Lily does mention why this happened but I can't see doing something THAT drastic for a person out of the kindness or your shriveled up little Grinch heart. But, in the end, I think that little heart was starting to thaw. THEN I want to know how everything ended with Cole and Ben. Since Lily said Amber had moved on, what does that mean for Ben?

I had all intents and purposes of rating this book 4.5/5 stars. But I got so sucked in towards the end that there is no way this book deserves anything less than 5 stars.

The last little thing I wanted to add was this: I find it really awesome when a real place I know ends up in a book I am reading. I was reading another book along side this one and it mentioned Housing Works Cafe and I just giggled because that it where I tend to order a lot of my used books from on Amazon. Forever, Again mentioned one of my favorite sub places. It's just the little things like this that make me really appreciate that, even though the books are fiction, sometimes authors use real places.

Overall, I gave this book 5/5 stars.








Monday, January 16, 2017

REVIEW: Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin - Valeria

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 12:00 PM 0 comments
RATE: 4/5



Goodreads Description:

Her story begins on a train.

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule. To commemorate their Great Victory, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s Ball in Tokyo.

Yael, a former death camp prisoner, has witnessed too much suffering, and the five wolves tattooed on her arm are a constant reminder of the loved ones she lost. The resistance has given Yael one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female racer, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move.

But as Yael grows closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

From the author of The Walled City comes a fast-paced and innovative novel that will leave you breathless

Alrighty!
I had a lot of expectations for this book, the description of it made me like super interested in it and I just couldnt wait to read it and of course, I finally did which is why I am here
It was interesting and intense from the very beginning, its hard not to be intense with the topic but Ryan did an amazing job at still keeping it real and respectful to the proper things. The beginning of the journey wasnt super exciting, but it all kept reminding me of Mad Max Fury Road only because of the desert and getting all extremish and stuff
Anyways
As things kept going on and more intense, it was harder to put the book down, and towards the end, like the last fourth of the book and as Yael kept getting closer to her goal I was like holy SMOKES!
I was flipping pages faster than I could read them (still read them though)
What happens in the end will make you gasp, I was just like
NO way! I CANT EVEN! It's like I shouldve seen it coming but I FREAKING DIDN'T
Now, I wont go ahead and claim that this is my new favorite series but this sure as heck is a good book and I really cant wait to get my hands on the next book

Recommend it?
Eh.... I do, it gets really good at the end, good cliff hanger, definitely cant wait for the next one



Saturday, January 14, 2017

Weekly Wrap-Up - January1st-7th

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:17 PM 0 comments
What I Read
Finished 01/03/2017


Finished 01/05/2017

Finished 01/05/2017

Finished 01/06/2017


Books I Accumulated

The Door That Lead to Where by Sally Gardner - Amazon Used
Frostbite by Richelle Mead(Hardcover copy) - Amazon Used
Bookoutlet Order(3 box sets and other misc)
Roald Dahl Box Set - Costco
Roseblood by A. G. Howard - BAM
X-Files books - BAM
And a bunch of other books that I should have taken pictures of but hey, live and learn.


Misc Items I Accumulated
I don't think I really bought anything besides books this week. I will start taking pictures to catalog what I got. That sounds a lot easier than listing everything and then linking it to the item on some website, lol.


What Happened This Week
It snowed a bit. We went to this mall that is like 30 miles away from us so I could go to Books-A-Million but the snow started actually sticking to the ground so I got all freaked out because my husbands NEW car sucks in snow. I will keep my 1997 Chevy Cavalier TYVM. She is amazing in snow, which I thought was weird but she is old which means she is made out of more substantial components than my husbands 2016 Ford Focus. I picked up a few books on that trip. I also found Roseblood out early so I grabbed that along with the new X-Files books and some other random items. 

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

REVIEW: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas - Valeria

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 12:00 PM 0 comments
Rate: 4/5


Goodreads Description:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.


Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her ... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.


Then one of the other contestants turns up dead ... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Okay so I made up my mind to read this series after everyone was hating on the author after the 5th installment was published (or even a tad before I think) 
Everyone was having this huge reactions and I was just looking at it all like what the crap, if everyone is reacting like this to a plot twist, that means she is GOOD, for everyone to have a shit fit, it means they really got into it xD Like epic proportions of shit fit.
So I was like damn, I wanna get into a book like that enough to hate the author like that for a plot twist.

So I checked them all out from the library.

And I got to it. 
Slowly but surely the book made its way to being interesting. At first I wasn't very sure I would even finish the book, it was a tad tedious but towards the end I found myself having a harder time to put it down.
The day I finished I thanked the big people above that I checked them all out because I just could not wait to read the second installment and just this morning (10/3/16) I started reading the second book and was so into it I wanted to take it to school.
Alas I didn't because I was going to have soooo much work and I had to study for tests that I decided it would be better for my grades if I left it home.

This is the first book by J Maas that I finish
I own A Court of Thorns and Roses but have yet to finish it, and own the second book as well.
I'm glad that I read and finished this one first though, I wasn't feeling so good about ACOTAR so its better to have had a positive first experience with this author that I have been assured is fantastic, than one that was seemingly negative. WELL
Not negative but I wasn't getting pulled into the book so much.
The characters for Throne of Glass are funny and interesting, I don't think I found any of them annoying which for some characters in this genre the authors end up accidentally making them annoying when they were truly trying to make them seem full of strength.

J Maas did a fantastic job a creating a balance with Celaena in the strength and feelings department.
So KUDOS for that!
The whole plot thing I was suspecting it from about the 1/3rd mark of the book but even when it is revealed it still manages to make you gasp.

Now, I am even more excited to finish the book due to the fact that it is set to become a television show so yay for that!
I cant wait to see who is cast as Dorian, Chaol and Celaena!

Recommend it?
SURE THANG
If you are a fan of The Hunger Games, this is a series for you 100%



Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Book Releases - January 10th 2017

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 10:58 PM 0 comments
I hope everyone is having a great start to the new year! Here are the books that came out today. SO MANY!!!











Monday, January 9, 2017

REVIEW: This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp - Valeria

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 12:00 PM 0 comments
Rate: 5/5


Goodreads Description:
10:00 a.m. The principal of Opportunity High School finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.


10:02 a.m. The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.



10:03 a.m. The auditorium doors won't open.



10:05 a.m. Someone starts shooting.



Told from four different perspectives over the span of fifty-four harrowing minutes, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.



Literally me the whole freaking time! Right from the start after you get some very briefs introductions and normality shit starts to happen and boy does it happen.
This book actually freaking terrified me! 
The ball of emotions that this had me in were too much to handle.
Like bloody terrified of this book. I think it has a lot to do with the day and age that we are in that sadly school shootings are not uncommon and its just scary
As the book says, school is supposed to be a safe place and to think otherwise to this POINT is freaking scary ! Even if you're not in school anymore, this can sadly happen absolutely anywhere!
Not to sounds paranoid but no where is safe
Mariekes job at portraying this fear was phenomenal, I mean the characters being so terrified to the point that they just don't know what to do but they do know that they need to remain calm, otherwise so many lives are at stake. 
Now, it could be that I am listening to Moonlight Sonata but thinking about this book, its story and listening to the song just makes me want to cry.

Personally this book I find it to be a masterpiece, one that I hope is turned to the silver screen with the proper talent to show the fear that I felt just thinking about this.

Recommend it?
YES! This book just ... It was amazing. 


Join us on Facebook

Please wait..10 SecondsCancel
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Hello Jenny Reviews Copyright © 2010 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template Graphic from Enakei