Tuesday, September 13, 2016

REVIEW: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 12:00 AM 0 comments
Title: Isla and the Happily Ever After
Genre: YA Contemporary Romance
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Publisher: Dutton
Publication: August 14th 2014
Cover Rating: 3/5

SYNOPSIS:

Love ignites in the City That Never Sleeps, but can it last? 

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart. 

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.


I FREAKING LOVED THIS BOOK!
When I started I was like okay, Anna and the French Kiss will always be my favorite, forever and always. But then towards the middle of this book I'm like holy crap, Isla (eye-la) is my spirit animal. Then towards the end I realized that this would be my favorite. Hands down. 
This book was sexy without being vulgar. 
And OMG!!!!! That scene towards the end in the Point Star!!!
I cried a lot in this book towards the end! When shes reading the manual at the end.. I cried super hard.

I CRIED!!!
I honestly did !!!
 The last book and only other book I cried on was The fault in out starts.
That one was out of sadness though.
Well this one had sad crying too.


This book had it all. I love how we get to see all of these places as they travel, we go in their adventures. 
We fall in love. 
It had heartbreak.
It had life.
I want more. 
I need more. 
I finished this like 12 hours ago and I still cant get over the feeling that it left me. 

Recommend it?
I don't know why you're still reading this.
You should be out there.
Getting the book.
Leave. 
Close the page. 
GO
BUY
IT!

Overall, I gave the book 5/5 stars.



Thursday, September 8, 2016

REVIEW: Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 4:34 PM 0 comments
Title: Labyrinth Lost
Genre: YA Magical Realism
Author: Zoraida Córdova
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication: September 6th 2016
Cover Rating: 4/5
I wrote a review for this book already but for some reason when I went to post it the file became corrupt. Maybe it was magic!

Have you ever read a book where you ADORED the authors writing style but that specific book just didn't do it for you? Well, for me, that is this book. It is soooo good, don't get me wrong. I just wasn't into the plot at the time BUT I will be following the series because the way this book ended was crazy.

Alex is a Bruja, a witch for those who don't know what a Bruja is. Us normal people have a sweet 16 or some other forms of normal teenage festivities. Not Alex. She gets a Death Day. A Death Day happens once a Bruja finally comes into her powers. But Alex has been hiding things from her family a friends. She decides to be VERY selfish and looks for a way to get out of her unwanted lifestyle. Alex didn't even think how her actions would alter her or her families lives until it was too late.

Enter Nova. He randomly appears and is here to save the day. Right? Well I guess you will have to read the book and find out because I cannot get into much detail about him without spoiling at least one thing or another.

Rose and Lula are your typical older and younger sisters. They tease, trick and torment each other but in the end they are still sisters and still love each other. We don't get to see too much of the mother though. There are a lot of relatives in this book. Dead and alive. It is a little hard keeping track of who is who because a lot of them have similar names or you just get so many names thrown at you that it is just sometimes difficult to keep track.

For some reason this book seemed very Alice in Wonderland-esqe to me. I can't quite place what exactly gives me that vibe but the vibe is there. Maybe it's the going to a different world thing, maybe it's the Queen of Hearts type element with The Devourer but it's there and if you read the book for yourself maybe you will see it too.

So as I stated above, this book ended on a crazy cliffhanger. Let's just say I envy those who don't read this book until all of the books are out. Not only did I read this long before it was even released but now I have to wait a year to get answers that are just swarming through my head. But, hey, it will make me continue the series so the author knew what she was doing.

Overall, I gave the book 4.5/5 stars.









*Disclaimer - I received this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the publisher for allowing me to read and review this book.

Monday, September 5, 2016

What I Read This Week: August 29th - September 4th

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 10:00 AM 0 comments

Finished 08/29/2016
I requested this book from the publisher and they kindly sent it to me in exchange for my honest review and here it is... I liked this book. It was a bit slow for me and there was a lot of information to take in but after a while I just flew through it. I honestly wasn't sure If I was going to worry about continuing with the series until I read the last sentence and proceeded to yell at the book. I know a lot of people who would love this book and will be recommending it to them but I didn't adore it. I do, however, love the authors writing style and will be following her new books. I might even buy her previous series with the pretty blue covers. We shall see. I will have a full review up the day this book is release(09/06/2016).



Finished 08/30/2016
So far, this is my favorite book. A lot of horrible things happened but I feel like we are finally getting somewhere with the whole Voldemort thing. 

Monday, August 29, 2016

What I Read This Week: August 22nd-28th

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 12:00 PM 0 comments

Finished 08//22/2016
I loved this book so much. I did an author spotlight for the author so if you click on the book cover you will be taken to the spotlight. This book is about a teenage girl with depression. It's not one of those adaptations where an author thinks they know what a teen feels and then writes a half-assed book about it. This book is very accurate and relevant to the topic. I found myself really relating to the main character and the way her friends and family treated her because she has depression. Depression tears families apart. It is something that more people need to be educated on. I highly recommend this book to EVERYONE!

Finished 08/25/2016
Out of the 3 Selection books I liked this one the least. It did have a bunch of my favorite moments from the series in it but I really didn't like how it ended and the back and forth between America and Maxon made me want to slap them. Plus there was too much tragedy. This entire series is tragic. Click on the cover to be taken to my full review.

Finished 08/27/2016
I have had a lot of friends tell me this is their favorite book out of the series but, for me, it's either my least favorite or second least favorite. This book was entirely too long and I had a hard time focusing on it because of that. There was a lot of chaos going on and, sadly, besides serving as a bridge book and a book to kill characters in, I felt that it was pointless.

Finished 08/28/2016
Can I just slap Eadlyn? She is such a stuck up brat and I find it hard to believe she is America's kid. Every part of this book was Eadlyn bitching and moaning about having to do this or do that. In the end, she got what she deserved but America didn't deserve what happened. I truly hope the next book is a bit brighter because Kiera Cass is killing off characters in these horribly tragic ways and it's getting annoying, honestly. I will have a full review up soon.

Sunday, August 28, 2016

Review: The One by Kiera Cass

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 3:00 PM 0 comments
Title: The One
Genre: YA Dystopian Romance
Author: Kiera Cass
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication: May 6th 2014
Cover Rating: 5/5


So, just as The Elite, this book picks up pretty much exactly where the previous book left off. With that being said, I think these 3 books could have been turned into one. They books are all short and VERY quick reads. Nothing changes enough for each piece of work to really be its own book. Aside from that, I really did enjoy this trilogy. It is such an awesome story with a deeper meaning that I am sure not a lot of people cared too much about considering these books have been labeled as guilty pleasures or quick reads to keep up with your Goodreads yearly reading goal.

I still love the series and they are still very quick and fun books to read but the back and forth, back and forth made this book not as enjoyable. I spent a good portion of the book wanting to smack Maxon and America upside their heads. But, I think we all knew what was going to happen considering there is a spin-off series about a certain... character. I also really didn't like Maxon's mindset on relationships. If something goes wrong he goes running to another one of The Elite girls. America wasn't exactly the poster girl for perfection either but she also wasn't raised as royalty. 

Do you know those weird phone calls where a couple will sit there and say "You hang up. No you hang up." back and forth until some else grabs one of those phones and hung up for them? Well, that is kind of what it was like watching Maxon and America in this book. Except instead of hanging up they were both willing the other to say I LOVE YOU first. Of course, this was all internal dialogue, but I'm pretty sure they knew what the other wanted. 

*WARNING SPOILERS COMING*

Maxon didn't have to marry her... His father was gone, the castes were going to be gone and HE was in charge but he still wanted her!!! And she got to keep Aspen! I really have no idea how this book could have ended any better. Well, I do know, the Queen, Mer's dad, all the death never happening. But without the death, Maxon would have ended up with the wrong girl. I have read tons of books. All of them center around a plot point. But I have never read a book where one phrase could make or break everything. They say love is a powerful thing... who ever they are, they aren't wrong. Love... really is powerful. Love can make you do things you didn't think you could ever do. Love heals. 

ALSO!!! WTF? No one said anything about Kriss and no one even mentioned Celeste(yes their names came up as a passing thought for America but that wasn't enough). I think that was pretty screwed up after those 4 girls became THAT close. I also feel bad for Anne. She was just doing her duty but that got her labeled as rigid and made Aspen not want her but instead he wanted Lucy. So what happened to Anne? It just said she was gone. So I'm assuming she died. Mary was still there so that was nice to see but it just felt like the other people were just overlooked and didn't matter anymore. They did matter. You can't just go through 3 books and play it off when a character is gone. 

There is so much more I can say but I can't even gather my thoughts on a lot of the subjects. But one thing that keeps coming to mind is that killing off a character is an easy way out for the author. They don't have to create an imaginary future for dead characters and that's what would have had to happen with Celeste, Kriss and Elise. I'm going to continue with the companion series and read the last two novellas only because I have already invested time into these books but I really wish this book was a little different.

Overall, I gave the book 3.5/5 stars.



"Didn't the sky know the world was falling apart? How could the sun shine today?" - American Singer, The One, Page 297


Friday, August 26, 2016

REVIEW: The Queen by Kiera Cass

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 11:00 AM 0 comments
Title: The Queen
Genre: Dystopian Romance
Author: Kiera Cass
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication: December 2nd 2014
Cover Rating: 3/5


This was an amazing backstory on not only Queen Amberly but King Clarkson when he was prince and his parents. I was definitely shown where the cruelness King Clarkson has came from. We also get to learn more about the castes and how some of the occupational hazards towards reproduction and other health issues.

With seeing this glimpse into the past it made me really want to know more about the first ruler and how everything came to be the way it was. We get some insight into journals from a past ruler but besides that there isn't much else and I would love to read more about it.


On thing that did really bother me(not with the author or writing) was that King Clarkson was treated so horribly by his own father. He hated his father. But he turned into his father once he became king. I would have thought after all the years of dealing with his own father would make him a better person. It didn't. He did pretty much the same stuff, if not worse, to Maxon. I was seriously hoping King Clarkson would eventually see the error of his ways. But maybe the pressure of being king was just too much for him to handle so he became his father.

Overall, I gave the book 4/5 stars.



Thursday, August 25, 2016

REVIEW: The Elite by Kiera Cass

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 12:00 PM 1 comments
Title: The Elite
Genre: Dystopian YA
Author: Kiera Cass
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication: April 23rd 2013
Cover Rating: 5/5

The Elite starts pretty much exactly where The Selection ended but I would tell that this book was going to a bit more serious and intense just with how it started. The book took on a different tone from page 1 and I had no idea what I was in store for.

Even though The Selection series is this guilty pleasure book for so many readers, there are still a lot of moments I sat here wondering WHAT IF. What if the United States Didn't exist anymore. Would there be a time when people really had no idea what Halloween was? Would computers become obsolite? This book brings up so many questions that I am not sure if anyone really wants the answers to. It also brings up things that COULD happen. Things with the US and China. Building a fiction book that is based off of some real facts can get really scary.

I think the best way to describe this series is to imagine the Unite States, years in the future, but all of the things we have now are pretty much gone. I think I would compare some of the events in this book to WWII. There are banned books and woman seem to be right back where they started with their rights to vote or join that military. This book is the United States in the future but it is also how we were in the past. We have mad so much progress in equality and rights but it can all be taken away. Just because we are free right now doesn't mean that can't change.

One thing this book did make me realize is, knowing a series has a sequel is a spoiler on its own. Like knowing that the next book is called The One and these books are told from Amerca's perspective leads me to believe that America will always be around. It sucks but it's also nice to know because with how The Elite ended I had no idea how this would play out. I do wish I had the suspense of not knowing but knowing more books are out there kind of just gives it away.

Overall, I gave this book 4.5/5 stars.



Join us on Facebook

Please wait..10 SecondsCancel
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Hello Jenny Reviews Copyright © 2010 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template Graphic from Enakei