Friday, January 19, 2018

REVIEW: There's Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins - Erin

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments
There's Someone Inside Your House
by Stephanie Perkins
Hardcover, 289 pages
Published September 26th 2017 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780525426011
Checked Out From The Library

About:
Love hurts...

Makani Young thought she'd left her dark past behind her in Hawaii, settling in with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska. She's found new friends and has even started to fall for mysterious outsider Ollie Larsson. But her past isn't far behind.

Then, one by one, the students of Osborne Hugh begin to die in a series f gruesome murders, each with increasingly grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and her feelings for Ollie intensify, Makani is forced to confront her own dark secrets. (Goodreads)

Rating: 



I will admit, I don’t think I’ve ever read anything by Stephanie Perkins before, so my take on this book is a little different than most. I’ve seen a lot of reviews about how a romance writer had no business writing horror. I had no idea she wrote romance, but while reading this book that side of the author definitely came out…a lot.  I’m not saying that horror can’t have a bit of romance, but with this book there were parts where it almost over shadowed the suspense. Not my favorite, but now knowing what this author usually writes I get it. Perkins had a decent plot. It was your run of the mill slasher story. There was suspense.  I wanted to know who the killer was and why. And this book definitely had me wondering in my real life“Did I leave that drawer open? Or is there someone else here???” .There was some cleverness to the killer. How he messed with the victims before killing them kept me hooked to find out more. The writing was good, no complaints there. The setting was creepy. The romance though…. Ugh! It was an over kill. And by the end of the book I really didn’t care if Makani and Ollie lived or died. I was also disappointed that we never got a real reason for the killings. The bad guys caught and the end. Overall, older teens who enjoy horror might like this book. The slasher like story is a little different than most YA books and might grab readers because of it. There is some mature content in it and it could be possibly a little scary for younger teens. Give to them with caution. 

*Book photo and/or review are owned by Erin. To see her personal blog click her signature above^*

Thursday, January 18, 2018

REVIEW: From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion - Jenn

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 10:15 PM 0 comments
SYNOPSIS:

When Lucas Walker inexplicably recovers from a terminal illness, everyone is astonished --except for his girlfriend Emma, who never gave up hope. However, as friends and family celebrate the miracle, Emma becomes alarmed: Lucas has changed. He speaks haltingly, can't recall past events, and even his own dog doesn't recognize him. Emma begins to suspect something is terribly wrong. What happened to the Lucas she loved? Does his strange behavior have something to do with the shooting light that fell into Lucas's backyard the night he recovered?

As the two set off on a road trip in search of the truth, the journey takes an unexpected turn. First they're shot at by unknown enemies and then helped by unlikely allies. Before long, Emma and Lucas are plunged into a desperate life or death race against time.

Packed with intrigue and emotion, FROM A DISTANT STAR is a riveting novel about loyalty and the power of love.


This is an incredibly cute and rewarding YA scifi novel. I'm totally smitten. At first I wasn't sure about it, because Emma (the main character) bothered me in the beginning, but that changed pretty quickly. This is a fast story involving aliens, romance, and government conspiracies--I know that sounds like a strange combination of potentially heavy topics, but I promise that they are actually lighter than you anticipate.

I switched between listening to the audiobook and reading, and either way is perfectly good. The audiobook has a pretty good narrator, and I like the inflection she gave throughout the story.

I give it 4 out of 5 bitchin' stars for bringing warmth to me in this cold weather. Oh my goodness!



All of Jenn's reviews can be found on her Goodreads.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

REVIEW: Winter by Marissa Meyer - Valeria

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 10:00 AM 0 comments

Rate:


Goodreads Description:
 Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

 I.... OMG! I cant even with this book... 
I honestly don't know what to say without actually spoiling anything. 
There is so much happening in this book. 
This book is where it all goes down and everything is falling apart and everyone is breaking and cracking and... It's chaos all over. 
Not going to lie, when I got the book and I started reading it, I skipped ahead to find out what would happen, but in my defense it was all very brief so I still wouldn't majorly spoil it for myself. This book had my emotions all over the place! I actually teared up more than once !!
One thing that killed me in this book was Thorne and Cress! I NEED MORE!
I need more of my cutiepies!
Its still one of the best books in the series, hands down, they just kept getting better for me. Now all I need is Stars Above and my life will be complete. And probably over at the same time.

Recommend it?
YES! It will not disappoint!

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Upcoming Release: Zenith by Sarah Alsberg & Lindsay Cummings - January 16th 2018

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 10:00 AM 0 comments

REVIEW: Meet Cute by Various Authors - 4.5 stars

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments
Title: Meet Cute
Genre: YA Contemporary with other Genres
Author: Various
Publisher: HMH 
Publication: January 2nd 2018
Cover Rating: 3/5
Reading format: Library Hardback + Audiobook

Meet Cute is an anthology about couples meeting for the first time. I never know how to review anthologies because it's not just one author or one story and it feels like it would take forever to sit down and disect each story and review it. 

I do know that I really disliked the first story, Siege Etiquette by Katie Cotugno. It was about this snotty popular girl who ended up at some party after she had some traumatic event happen, the event is not told to us, and the cops come and the kids have to hide and she ends up in a bathroom with the least popular guy in the school. She is so horrible to him and treats him nastily yet she still tries to get in his pants. Major WTF story. My favorite story was probably Click by Matharine McGee. Click was about this dating app that hooks people up based on more than just a profile picture and a few shallow interests. The girl goes on her first Click date but she leaves her phone in the taxi and the guy she was supposed to meet helps her track her phone down and then there is a big plot twist at the end that was so fricken cute!

Most of the stories are pretty cute but some of them just made me have to put the book down and smack myself in the forehead before I could even attempt to continue.


Overall, I gave the book 4/5 stars.



Would you like to know how my husband of 8 years and myself met? Leave a comment below and I will make a post about it. WARNING: It is kind of adult-rated so be ready for some not pretty words, lol.

Monday, January 15, 2018

REVIEW: Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu - 4.5 stars

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments
Title: Batman: Nightwalker
Genre: YA Fantasy/Superhero
Author: Marie Lu
Publisher: Random House
Publication: January 2nd 2018
Cover Rating: 5.5
Reading format: Owned Hardback

Batman: Nightwalkers is my introduction to the Batman world. I was worried I wouldn't understand or like this book but I needed to read it because it's a big release for the YA book community. I am glad I read it, though. I wound up really liking it and will continue on with the rest of the books writing in this little YA DC series.

Bruce Wayne just turned 18 and inherited his parents fortune. Unfortunately that also means he inherited their enemies. You wouldn't think a rich couple who did a lot of charity work would have enemies but there are always those few who think if you are rich that you are evil. And that is where the Nightwalkers come in. They are a murderous group set out to kill all the rich, corrupt people in Gotham and somehow, Bruce ended up on their list.

Before he even knew about the Nightwalkers, Bruce got himself in a bit of trouble by chasing down a bad guy even though the cops told him not to interfere. This little act landed him in court and he got sentenced to community service. That community service is to be served as a janitor for the Arkham Asylum prison and there he meets Madeleine Wallace who ends up being a part of the Nightwalkers but seems to have a soft side for Bruce. They form a weird relationship and Bruce finds himself confused about right and wrong. Until, his friends and families lives are put in danger because of Madeleine.

In the end, I was pretty impressed with the story but I know next to nothing about the Batman franchise so I can't be a good judge of character when it comes to the Batman portion but the writing and story otherwise were pretty great. 

Overall, I gave the book 4/5 stars


Thursday, January 11, 2018

REVIEW: Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco - 4.5/5 stars

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 5:17 PM 0 comments
Title: Hunting Prince Dracula
Genre: YA Historical Thriller
Author: Kerri Maniscalco
Publisher: Little, Brown
Publication: September 19th 2017
Cover Rating: 5/5
Reading format: Owned Hardback
I loved Stalking Jack the Ripper. Every chance I get to suggest the book to someone, I do, very enthusiastically. So I was BEYOND excited to get my hands on Hunting Prince Dracula. Although there wasn't as much gore aspect in HPD I still enjoyed it just as much, but Audrey Rose needed an attitude adjustment or a Xanax.

We start the story off with Audrey Rose and Thomas on a train on their way to a prestigious forensic school that just so happens to reside in Vlad the Impalers castle. On the ride they find out that the locals are worried that Vlad has risen from the dead and has started to kill people again. Once at the castle the two figure out that there is a killer replicating vampyric deaths and also replicating deaths as if the person was a vampire killed by a hunter. So two very different deaths but also two very similar situations.

I really enjoyed the mystery solving portion of the book but I think I could have lived without the sexual tension between Thomas and Audrey Rose. There was anger where it wasn't needed and sexual thoughts when they weren't needed. I understand the author is trying to advance a romantic plot within the book but sometimes enough is enough. Even with the crazy tension I still found a way to love the book. Especially when we find out that Thomas has one hell of a secret he's been keeping.

Audrey Rose spent the majority of this book worried more about what her peers thought of her and of the fact that she wanted to be an independent woman rather than actually solving anything or doing her forensic work. She was doing a wonderful job of screwing herself over without Thomas or her classmates help. Sometimes being too worried about one thing can really skew what's really important. Also, I found it very interesting that Audrey Rose didn't say anything when Thomas convinced her father to let her go to school. So she only accepts help when it greatly benefits her.  Hmm, I hope her attitude improved in the next book.

Overall, I gave the book 4.5/5 stars.

Join us on Facebook

Please wait..10 SecondsCancel
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Hello Jenny Reviews Copyright © 2010 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template Graphic from Enakei