Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Mini-Review: Reverie by Ryan La Sala - 4 stars

Posted by HelloJennyReviews at 5:00 PM 0 comments
Title: Reverie
Genre: Young Adult LGBT Fantasy-ish
Author: Ryan La Sala
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication: December 3rd 2019
Cover Rating: 5/5
Reading Format: Provided ARC + Finished Copy

Reverie by Ryan La Sala is a hybrid of a book. We get to follow Kane one his journey to get his memory back but along the way, we are shown some pretty epic fantasy worlds and some killer powers. This book really tested my imagination and I loved that.

Kane was recently in a pretty bad accident. An accident that caused the burning of a pretty important historical building, caused him to end up in a coma and caused him to lose his memory. But what if the accident wasn't what caused him to lose his memory? What is Kane has the ability to do something... magical? What if the life Kane remembers is just a ruse?

After the accident and Kane has had time to heal, he goes back to school only to realize that his memories are jumbled. Why does it feel like he knows some people when his memory is telling him that he hates or steers clear of them? Ursula, a girl he remembers not being friends with, ends up helping him out and that just opened up a floodgate of even more confusion and doubt.

This book is Magical Realism, at least by my definition. But when I went to check Goodreads, Magical Realism wasn't even remotely one of the genres listed for this book so that confused me. But I am keeping this review short because I feel like this is a book that needs to be experienced personally.

What I first picked this book up, I could not get into it. I have no idea what the problem was, maybe the fact that it was contemporary and I might not have been in the mood at the time but once I got past 100 pages I flew through the story. It was a wild ride about people's dreams/fantasies turning into something called a reverie which means it kind of comes to life but if it's not stopped it could end up destroying the people in the reverie. You know what, just read the book. 

In the end, I thought this book had a really solid storyline and plot but some things could have been written/portrayed better and there were some mistakes that transferred over to the finished copy of the book. I can't wait to see what the author writes next.

Overall, I gave the book 4/5 stars.

Thursday, November 28, 2019

10 Books/Series I am THANKFUL for in 2019

Posted by HelloJennyReviews at 12:00 PM 1 comments
I am very grateful to all the authors who have put their beautiful words onto pages. I am very grateful to the publishers for buying and printing these books. I am very grateful to bookstores for selling these books. But what books/series from 2019 am I most grateful for? Well, how kind of you to ask. These are and aren't really in any order. I will count down from ten but the top few books will be in order. So, without further ado, here are the books I am most grateful for in 2019:

I wasn't even sure if The Cruel Prince was going to make it on to this list. There has been a lot of drama surrounding this author and I am honestly tired of the book community drama this year. But, after reading The Queen of Nothing, even though I wasn't entirely thrilled with the ending, I decided that I couldn't leave Jude and Cardan off the list. 
Stormrise just BARELY made this list, not because of how much I love it, but because of the fact that I just finished it recently and I almost didn't find out how much I love this book until after Thanksgiving 😱I am thankful for this book because it showed me that I can, in fact, enjoy a dragon story.
Oh man, Three Dark Crowns ended this year and this was one of those series where I kept buying the books as they came out but I promised myself I wouldn't read it until they were ALL out and I somehow succeeded. So, once the last book came out I devoured this series like it was water and I was trapped in a desert. This series spoke to my dark side so much and I LOVED IT.
This should speak for itself but just in case it doesn't, I am thankful for this book because it makes my dark little heart oh so very happy. STAB STAB STAB. I am also thankful for Aurora Rising for showing me that I can read more than two POV's without losing my ever-loving mind but I thought it was unfair for Jay Kristoff to hog 2 spots. 
Remember how at the beginning of this post I said these won't really be in any order except the first few? Well, this is a prime example of WHY. I LOVE THIS SERIES. I would die for this series. Okay, maybe not DIE but you get the idea. So why isn't this higher on the list? Because I can't have six number one books, or can I? All I know is I am devastated that I will never get anything more from my beloved Thomas Cresswell 😱😢
The Vanishing Stair is the second book in the Truly Devious trilogy and this book was fantastic. I will always have a soft spot in my heart for murder mysteries and Maureen Johnson did such a fantastic job on these books. I am sure you will see the last book/this series on next year's list.
It's only fair that the Renegades trilogy is on this list because, well, I read the first 2 books twice this year and the final book, Supernova, came out this month and I devoured that chunky thing in 1 day. Marissa Meyer will always hold a special place in my heart for a few reasons but this series shocked me because, unless it's The Avengers, I really don't like superhero stuff. I will miss this world and these characters but with how the book ended I am hopeful that there will be a spinoff series in the future... PLEASE?!
Now, TECHNICALLY, the Constellation trilogy is my number one series BUT I was not expecting books like The Grace Year or Sorcery of Thorns to come out so it has been deligated to number 3 even though it is just as important to me as 1 and 2. Claudia Gray is my number 1 favorite author. She has helped me through a lot of crap and for that, I am eternally grateful to her. I just hope I can meet her one day and have her sign my 25+ book collection, haha.
Sorcery of Thorns was definitely one of the books that surprised me the most this year. When I am reading I usually picture the story in my head like a movie and this story was a full-blown theatrical performance. I am usually pretty excited when a book is a standalone but this story could go on for fifty books and I would still be reading it.
I LOVE The Grace Year. The author is such an amazing person too so that just adds to it. I have read this book 3 times this year. Once as an ARC, once as a finished copy and once as an audiobook and I will never not love this story. I will definitely be rereading this book yearly from now until the day my books take me from this mortal coil.

Thank you guys for reading through my list. Books have always been something that has helped me get through some of the roughest patches in my life. I even have certain books I will always keep because I bought them on the day when something big happened. For example, my dad had a stroke back in 2015 and the day he went to the hospital my husband took me to buy a copy of Fairest by Marissa Meyer. I am really bad with remembering dates so if I do get a book when something special/bad happened I usually write the date and event on a sticky note and put it in that book. Books will always be apart of my life and because of that, I am so grateful to those who make books possible. What are some books you are grateful for in 2019?

Monday, November 25, 2019

REVIEW: Scared Little Rabbits by A.V. Geiger - 4 stars

Posted by HelloJennyReviews at 9:00 AM 0 comments

Title: Scared Little Rabbits
Genre: Young Adult Mystery
Author: A.V. Geiger
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication: December 3rd 2019
Cover Rating: 3/5
Reading Format: Provided ARC
Scared Little Rabbits by A.V. Geiger is the story of Nora. She spent years preparing to apply to the Makers program at the prestigious Winthrop Academy and once she finally got in things couldn't have gone more differently than she had hoped for. Drama, coding, first love, and murder.

This is the first book I have ever read that starts on a cliffhanger. No, not the type you usually hear about when people discuss books, a literal cliffhanger. Well, I guess that isn't entire correct either considering the person hanging off the cliff was no longer there anymore... So we begin this story with a cliff that lost its hanger. 

Nora just arrived at Winthrop Academy to begin her summer program that she has waited years for. This prestigious program produced one of the world's most-used apps called Instalove. It is a combination of Instagram and... let's say Tinder. Nora downloads the app right before she arrives at the program so she is an entirely new user in a place where everyone has been using the app for a long time. But something else for the app is in the making and it's being tested during the duration of her summer program. It is a sort of virtual reality in a pair of glasses that also acts as your cell phone so you can send texts and call people. Nora enters the program with an idea to build something unique but somehow she gets dragged into the production of these glasses and quite possibly first love. All she has to do is fight off that first loves ex-girlfriend with the same name as her but that might prove to be easier than she thought.

This book was very interesting to me because it involved a lot of coding and computer work which I am very fond of. I think if it wasn't for the mental intrigue I would have given the book a little bit of a lower rating considering I spent the entire book yelling at Nora to be brave. I remember texting my friend who read the book a few days before me how much Nora was frustrating me. I understand that that is who she was as a character but something about week women characters just bothers me. By the end of the book, she redeemed herself so that was another saving grace.

When I saw the cover reveal floating around for this book I got so excited. Does that say A.V. Geiger?! Yes, yes it does. HECK YES! I requested this book so fast. You see, I was given the chance to review the author's previous two books and I LOVED THEM so I knew I couldn't pass up the chance to read and review her next book. While I can say that I did not love this book as much as her previous duology I did enjoy it. It was very different from her first book but her writing style and character development were all the same and that is what drew me in from the start.

In the end, this book was a fantastic new addition to the author's works. I cannot wait to see what she comes up with in the future. She will always be an auto-read author for me.

Overall, I gave the book 4/5 stars.

Friday, November 8, 2019

COVER REVEALS: The Deceivers and Scammed by Kristen Simmons #SCAMMED #THEDECEIVERS #GetInOnTheScam

Posted by HelloJennyReviews at 10:00 AM 0 comments


The Deceivers(paperback) and Scammed(hardback) BOTH come out on FEBRUARY 4th 2020!

PREORDER HERE:


Wednesday, October 30, 2019

REVIEW: All the Things We Do in the Dark by Saundra Mitchell - 3.5 stars

Posted by HelloJennyReviews at 12:00 PM 0 comments

Title: All the Things We Do in the Dark
Genre: Young Adult Thriller/LGBT
Author: Saundra Mitchell
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication: October 29th 2019
Cover Rating: 4/5
Reading Format: Provided eARC - Edelweiss
Goodreads | Amazon

All the Things We Do in the Dark by Saundra Mitchell is the story of Ava and how a horrible event that happened to her at the age of 9 will forever shadow her decisions she makes in life. This is a story about her highs and lows, her PTSD and the scars this event left her with, both internal and external. This story is about pain but also about healing. This story is about the horrible things we as humans do to each other. This story IS.

I am going to be upfront with you guys, I could not connect with Ava AT ALL. That made the book a bit hard to get through. It took me over two weeks to read this short book but I knew I had to finish it because even though I didn't connect with the main character the story/meaning behind this book was still important. Ava is the product of her tragic past but she is also the product of her attempts to heal from her past. 

Ava's past and her PTSD are the main reason why, when she is on her way home and stumbles upon a body, she doesn't call the police. She is afraid and worried about what they will do to Jane, the name Ava gives the poor dead girl. Ava doesn't want Jane to become another statistic to these people but she doesn't seem to realize that Jane is already a statistic just by being born female.

So the book is pretty much Ava trying to figure out what happened to Jane and her chasing ghosts and ending up in trouble. But I think Jane happening to Ava was a good thing because it seemed to break her out of her monotonous path. I think Jane helps Ava heal but she also drives her insane at the same time.

This book has a lot of LGBTQ+ representation and the way the author writes the romance is very natural, as it should be. Most of the time I shy away from queer books because I always get a weird feeling that the relationships aren't natural because the characters have to explain how they ARE queer and blah blah blah but Sandra Mitchell wrote things as they should be. They just end up together, drift towards each other, there is no huge build-up or declaration of sexuality. It. Just. Is. This was one of the reasons I kept reading the book. 

This section will be a tad spoilery but not really BUT I loved the idea of the whole 'gamer girl visiting people she met online only to have something bad happen' considering I have been a gamer girl my whole life and I even met my husband on World of Warcraft 10 years ago. This plot right here would make an excellent book on its own and is one of the other reasons I kept reading the book instead of DNFing it.

In the end, the premise itself sounded like it was going to be amazing but with my inability to connect to the main character the story just fell sort of flat. But I did enjoy the romance and how natural it was and I enjoyed the mystery/thriller portion of the book so if you can connect with Ava more that I did then you will definitely enjoy this book.

Overall, I gave the book 3.5/5 stars.

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

REVIEW: The Last to Die by Kelly Garrett - 3 stars

Posted by HelloJennyReviews at 9:00 AM 0 comments

Title: The Last to Die
Genre: Young Adult Mystery
Author: Kelly Garrett
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication: November 5th 2019
Cover Rating: 2/5
Reading Format: 

The Last to Die by Kelly Garrett is the story of six rich teenagers who are trying to find new ways to have a thrill. It's the story of what happens when those thrills end and someone is bitter about it. It's the story of going too far and revenge.

A group of friends decides that they want to have a bit of fun so they come up with the idea of breaking into each others houses when they are away on trips. It's really fun and exhilarating at first but it starts to become boring. So they up the ante. Breaking into other people's houses? Maybe. But what happens when someone wants even more excitement and almost gets one of them caught? What happens when some of them decide it's not worth the risk and wants to call it quits? What happens when someone does want to let them quite and ups the ante even more. What happens when the bodies start piling up?

As a little side note, I have absolutely no idea what the cover has to do with the book. I understand the house representation but the fact that it's in the middle of what looks like water with a lone girl looking out the window really confuses me. I normally don't talk about the covers outside of my initial rating in the book information above because authors usually don't get to pick their covers but this cover just.... what?!

In the end, this book was good but it didn't have a real ending and we all know how much of an annoyance that it. We never find out what happens with the biggest plot point of the book and THAT KILLED MY SOUL.

Overall, I gave the book 3/5 stars.

Monday, October 7, 2019

REVIEW: The Grace Year by Kim Liggett - 5 stars

Posted by HelloJennyReviews at 3:00 PM 0 comments
Title: The Grace Year
Genre: Young Adult Dystopian
Author: Kim Liggett
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Publication: September 17th 2019
Cover Rating: 5/5
Reading Format: Provided eARC


The Grace Year by Kim Liggett couldn't come out during a better year. With all the things happening regarding women's rights this book is very eerie. In this story, women are pretty much property and our main character, Tierney, feels like marriage is a fate worse than death. So when her Grace Year comes up she is more than happy to work the fields instead of being wed. But her best friend betrays her trust and now her entire Grace Year might be in jeopardy. She has a target on her back all because of a future she didn't ask for. 

Tierney is the middle daughter, the wild child, living in a world where women are property and feared to have magic so they are sent away for their 16th year in order to get rid of their magic. But none of the girls know what to expect for their Grace Years because the previous girls aren't allowed to talk about it. Tierney is ready to get her Grace Year over so she can come home and start working in the fields but her plans are thrown out when her best friend lifts her veil during the Grace Year ceremony, pledging to marry her when she comes back.

Thirty-three girls are sent to rid themselves of their "magic", but thirty-three girls will not be coming back. I had no idea what to expect at this part of the book but the author took this book through some amazing twists and turns. I was following everything on the edge of my seat, devouring page after page without putting the book down. I haven't read a book with this much excitement and commitment in a very long time. 

The girls are taught to fear the Poachers, a group of people who cut the girls up and sell their body parts to be used as aphrodisiacs. These Poachers are the reason it is believed that all the girls don't come back but there is something much more sinister at play. The minute the girls are alone, Tierney tries to get them to work together but another girl comes into her "magic" early and other girls side with her. This book shows how twisted the relationships between girls can become and how things aren't always how they appear to be.

In the end, I could not believe the amazing, beautiful and savage story I just consumed. I was watching Dragonball Super with my husband when I finished the story and I slowly sat my Kindle down and just groaned. My husband laughed because he knew that meant the book ended when I wasn't ready. RYKER!!!! 

Overall, I gave the book 5/5 stars. AMAZING!


Join us on Facebook

Please wait..10 SecondsCancel
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Hello Jenny Reviews Copyright © 2010 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template Graphic from Enakei