Sunday, May 27, 2018

REVIEW: The Reclaiming of Shilo Snow by Mary Weber - Paige

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments
Rating:
Genre: YA Dystopian/Science Fiction
Recommended Age: 16+ (some sexual references, blood, violence)
Pages: 352
Author: Mary Weber
Amazon
*Disclaimer I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review. I was also asked to help promote this book. Thanks NetGalley and Mary Weber! Also, this was an arc of the book and I’ve heard some things in this book may change before the final version is released.

Synopsis:

Trapped on the ice-planet of Delon, gamer girl Sofi and Ambassador Miguel have discovered that nothing is what it seems, including their friends. On a quest to rescue her brother, Shilo, a boy everyone believes is dead, they must now escape and warn Earth of Delon’s designs on humanity. Except the more they unearth of the planet and Sofi’s past, the more they feel themselves unraveling, as each new revelation has Sofi questioning the very existence of reality.

Meanwhile, back on Earth, Sofi’s mom, Inola, is battling a different kind of unraveling: a political one that could cost lives, positions, and a barely-rebuilt society, should they discover the deal made with the Delonese.

But there’s a secret deeper than all that. One locked away inside Sofi and ticking away with the beginnings, endings, and answers to everything. Including how to save humanity.


Quickly after I finished Sofi Snow I started this book, which is the sequel. Once again I fell in love with all of the world building and the characters in this book. I also felt that the story definitely picked up from that last book and the pacing and plot worked fairly well together throughout this book.

The only thing I felt that was off about this book was that there were some glaring plot holes and there were some things that I felt were really confusing in how they were explained. Because this is an arc I have hope that the holes and confusion will be cleared up by the release date of March 6th, but even with these faults the book was fantastic and exciting. It had a beautiful ending and I felt satisfied with the series overall.

Verdict: Satisfying and exciting read, just some small holes and issues. Hopefully they’ll be cleared up by the release.

Saturday, May 26, 2018

REVIEW: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber - Paige

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments
Rating: 
Genre: YA dystopian/sci-fi
Recommended Age: 16+ (some sexual references)
Pages: 352 Pages
Author: Mary Weber
Amazon

Synopsis:
 Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi's dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth's corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth's Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi's the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she's convinced he's been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel, Earth's charming young playboy, the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight's bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he's a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.


So I could NOT get enough of Warcross and Ready Player One, so fortunately I found this book to help tide me over until the next installment of Warcross and the Ready Player One movie comes out. While this book does not specifically focus on its game Fantasy Fighting (which is bloody and also reminds me of another dystopian book called The Hunger Games), it does have that gritty gamer vibe that I loved from Warcross and Ready Player One. I also loved how developed all of the characters were and how much world building there was in this book.

However, I did have problems getting into this book. I felt that the pacing was a little slow in this book and I felt that some of the parts in this book were a little overcomplicated. I’m also confused as to the game portion of this book. Like Hunger Games, Warcross, and Ready Player One had an explanation to these games while in this book it’s just like “well we’re bored… let’s have kids kill each other!” And why are children sellable in this future and why is the world split into corporations? That wasn’t very well explained in this book either.

Verdict: I loved the feel of this book, but I was left with more questions than answers. The characters, the diversity of the characters, and the world building definitely pull the majority of this book though.

Friday, May 25, 2018

REVIEW: More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer - Erin

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 11:30 PM 0 comments
More Than We Can Tell
More Than We Can Tell
by Brigid Kemmerer
Hardcover, 416 pages
Expected publication: March 6th 2018 by Bloomsbury Children's
ISBN: 9781681190143
NetGalley/ARC

About:
*While this book exists in the same universe as Letters to the Lost, it is a standalone title.*

Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed to keep them at bay...until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back.

Emma Blue spends her time perfecting the computer game she built from scratch, rather than facing her parents’ crumbling marriage. She can solve any problem with the right code, but when an online troll’s harassment escalates, she’s truly afraid.

When Rev and Emma meet, they both long to lift the burden of their secrets and bond instantly over their shared turmoil. But when their situations turn dangerous, their trust in each other will be tested in ways they never expected. This must-read story will once again have readers falling for Brigid Kemmerer’s emotional storytelling.
(Goodreads)

Rating: 




I hate to say it but I think I love this  book more than the first book Letters To The Lost…. And I loved that book! This book does take place in the same universe as Letters To The Lost and Declan and Juliet do show up from time to time, but this book really focuses on Declan’s best friend Rev and a new character named Emma. Rev and Emma’s stories deal with a lot of different issues. In this story we have abuse, internet trolling, women in the workplace dealing with harassment, redemption/facing daemons of the past, family drama, bullies, divorce, internet stalking/meet ups that go bad and more. It seems like a lot for one book to cover but Brigid does a wonderful job covering all of it. The story is well written, easy to follow (you do not have to read the other book to read this one by the way), and fast paced. I love the characters and I just want to hug them all and tell them it will be ok. I really hope that there will be another book in this universe. Maybe one about Mathew?? Just throwing that out there  . I would definitely recommend this book and Brigid’s other book to readers. It is mostly a clean read, though it does deal with tough serious topics. 

*To see more of Erin's reviews please click her signature to go to her blog

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Author Spotlight: The Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan by Gia Cribbs

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments

Gia Cribbs is an author and lawyer who lives in Maryland with her husband and daughters. When she isn’t writing, she can usually be found reading, eating too much chocolate, or fantasizing about her next vacation.
THE DISAPPEARANCE OF SLOANE SULLIVAN, her first novel, will be published by Harlequin TEEN on May 29, 2018.
She is represented by Steven Salpeter at Curtis Brown, Ltd.

Title: The Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan 
Genre: Young Adult Mystery/Thriller
Author: Gia Cribbs
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication: May 29th 2018
Cover Rating: 4/5
Reading format: Provided ARC


The Disappearance of Sloane Sullivan by Gia Cribbs is the mystery/thriller story of Sloane Sullivan and her escapades during her time in the Witness Protection Program. This book is a great thriller novel and will keep you turning pages until you wonder how you finished it so quickly.

Our story starts out with Sloane Sullivan, or Alice or Beth or whatever her name happens to be this month. Sloane is in the Witness Protection Program or WITSEC, as she liked to refer to it. When she was twelve, something bad happened and she was a witness to this something and that put her in a bad place. So, thusly landing her in the WITSEC program. She has been on the move for six years and is just ready to settle back into a real life where she doesn't have to keep running. But then, right before she is about to finally be free of the WITSEC program, she makes a very stupid decision that lands her right back into danger.

On her first day at her new school, Sloane runs into someone from her past. The past that she has been running/hiding from for 6 years. And when I say 'runs into' I mean it in the literal form. Jason, a boy who loved her when she was 12, runs straight into her while tossing a football in the hallway with a friend. Being in the WITSEC program, if Sloane even recognizes anyone from her past, she is supposed to report it and she would then be instantly moved to another location. She decided against reporting it, she just wanted to get through the next nine weeks, graduate, start college and finally be free of the WITSEC program. This was a very horrible mistake on her part.

Aside from Sloane and Jason we also get two other prominent characters, Sawyer and Livie. I liked both of them enough. Sawyer seemed like your average jock while Livie was... something else. Sawyer is Jasons best friend while Livie is Jason's girlfriend. Together, these four make up a little club, the people with two first names/people with first names for last names. It's a weird thing to bond over but hey, whatever floats their boats. And then we have Mark, he is an agent for the WITSEC program and Sloane's acting guardian. The love he felt for Sloane was so very real, I could feel it radiating off the page. 

I really enjoyed the thriller aspect of this book. It was VERY well crafted and kept me fully engulfed in the story. I sometimes feel like once you read one mystery/thriller book you've read them all. Regardless, I still enjoy those books but it is so amazing when I run into a book that surprises me. THIS BOOK surprised me. The story was told with flashbacks to fill in the past and I always like when the past is told like that. We got to see a lot of Sloane's life with Jason, which was very informative.

In the end, I loved the story. The build-up was phenomenal, the plot and flashbacks were beautifully done, and the writing was not that of a debut author, it was that of a well-versed author. If you are looking for your next thriller novel then I highly suggest picking this book up! You will not be disappointed.

Overall, I have the book 4.5/5 stars.

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

REVIEW: The Heir by Kiera Cass - Valeria

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments
Rate:

Goodreads Description:
Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she'd put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess's life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can't escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn't expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn's heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn't as impossible as she's always thought.

This review will have a million gifs to express my feelings
OH MY GOD EADLYN !

Eadlyn is so freaking bratty and annoying in my opinion.
This  whole review might seem like I hated the book but dont be fooled... I only hated Eadlyn, loved everything else.
Half of the time I thought "how did Maxon and America manage to have such a shit child"

Eadlyn spends a great deal of her time complaining about how no one gets her and she didn't ask for it and how it sucks and the selection is so freaking ineffective... IT SEEMS LIKE IT WORKED FOR EVERYONE BEFORE YOU!

Then the guys get there....
When she makes the first elimination, she was such a bejhgfisfe I usually someone root for characters to be meanish... But damn, Eadlyn was just being a brat!

When they start telling her and calling her out on her shit she is so surprised and like 
Im just sitting and reading the book trying not to punch it
I have seriously never hated a character so much
"Why did you give it a 4 then?!"
Everything else made it worth it , when she starts having out with Kile or Henri it makes it all worth it.
You start to get the feeling that Eadlyn is starting to realize she is a shit child. I have hope for her, hope that she will stop being a shit child.
I also have my favorite but I have a feeling that it might be too obvious and that it won't be it. Also... That ending destroyed me!

Okay so onto actual thought about this book.
It was still good, I finished it in 2 days, I hated Eadlyn every step of the way, but it was still good

Recommend it?
Yes but you could live without it, don't expect it to be fluffy like America's story

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

REVIEW: Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner - Jenny

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments
Title: Unearthed
Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi
Author: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Publication: January 9th 2018
Cover Rating: 5/5
Reading format: Owned Hardback

Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner is a Young Adult Science Fiction survival book about two characters, Amelia and Jules, and their story as the study and scavenge a planet called Gaia. A planet that people down on Earth hopes will hold the answer to all their problems; mainly, the fact that Earth is dying.

Amelia, AKA Mia, is a scavenger. She goes around the world to find scavenged goods to sell to buyers so that she can afford to buy her younger sisters freedom. Amelia is from a time when having more than one child is prohibited and Evie, the younger sister, was sold into a really demented form of slavery. She must work as a server until she is old enough to be a sex worker/stripper. Amelia must find a way to free her sister faster so she takes a job to go to Gaia, the planet that Earth intercepted a transmission from many years ago that was translated and was pretty much an invitation to come search their planet for treasure(it actually warned the humans away from the planet but humans are very fickle creatures and never listen).

Jules is the son of the man who translated the intercepted transmission. His father is a very influential person. Too bad he lands himself in jail by trying to tell people NOT to explore the planet because there was a second underlying message to the transmission. The message warns the humans from going to the planet and searching for technology that might save Earth. In order to prove his father right and get him out of jail, Jules goes in search of a way to get to the planet so he can study and find what his father said was there all along.

Both Amelia and Jules are on this planet for very different reasons but somehow their paths cross and the end up on this journey together. There is a lot of distrust, emotions, blood loss and hopelessness throughout their journey but both of them still persevere. Both of our main characters are very headstrong individuals that will fight for what they want. But soon, what they want turns out to be each other. And together, they are an unstoppable team. Together, they might save Earth.

I did not read the synopsis of this book before diving in. The first thing I noticed was how much this book was like a sci-fi Tomb Raider or Indiana Jones. After reading the book, I was reading through some reviews and noticed Indiana Jones was used when describing the book. This book was a really fun action/adventure story with a lot of things that needed to be solved and a lot of lives at risk. I found the story to be very engulfing and full of never-ending action. The alien race was a very interesting and complex story and the level of deception that the authors wove into this book was amazing.

In the end, I am very glad I decided to ignore the negative reviews I have seen and heard about this book. Apparently, a lot of people were disappointed in the book. Now, I have not read the authors previous works to compare this to any of them but I feel like this was a very solid book with a good story. The only iffy parts were the insta-love and that dang abrupt ending. 
Overall, I gave the book 4.5/5 stars.

Monday, May 21, 2018

REVIEW: Aftermath by Kelley Armstrong - Jenny

Posted by Jenn Christensen at 9:00 AM 0 comments
Title: Aftermath
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary/Thriller
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Publisher: Crown Books
Publication: May 22nd 2018
Cover Rating: 5/5
Reading format: Netgalley eARC

Aftermath by Kelley Armstrong is the story of a high school shooting. The main characters brothers both died in the shooting. One was a “victim” and the other was a “shooter”. Most stories focus on the shooting itself or the effects after. This books main focus is revenge which makes this story different than any other school shooting book I have ever read.

Skye is the sister of a school shooter. Her brother, Luka, and 2 of his friends shot up his high school. Luka was killed by police when he was exiting a bathroom. The shooting left Skye and her family very harassed so Skye went to live with her grandmother. The harassment followed her where ever she went. Then her grandmother had a stroke and she had to move back to her hometown to live with her aunt. That means going to school with the kids her brother's shooting had an impact on. That means living in the same town as Jesse, her old best friend whose brother just happens to have been a victim of the shooting.

Jesse was a good kid. A smart kid. After the shooting, he kind of veered off the path and because someone he didn’t want to be. He became his brother. The same brother that was killed in the shooting. The same brother who wasn’t as great as everyone seems to think he was. Jesse didn’t just lose his brother in that shooting. He lost his best friend, Skye, too. In the span of a day, his entire life changed. So, of course, he would grow up to be a different person, right? But when Skye suddenly reappears in his life, he has some choices to make.

Now that Skye is back, she is being harassed more than ever. People are telling her she needs to leave the school and that she deserves to die. But someone takes this harassment to a whole new level. They start stalking Skye. Locking her in rooms, setting things on fire and leaving things in her locker. Someone really wants Skye dead. But who? In a school full of people who hate her, finding out the answer might be harder than anything she’s ever dealt with. Luckily, her ex-best friend is there to help her. Or maybe he is a suspect, too.

This book was utterly fantastic. I loved the thriller element placed inside an already tragic event. The mystery plot is very well thought out. I was highly confused at the end when the bad guy turned out to be a different person but still along the same lines. And the reasoning behind wanting Skye dead? MIND BLOWN.

In the end, I am so glad Kelley Armstrong wrote this book. She has such an amazing talent for writing thrillers. I have read every book she has ever written, including her adult novels, and her writing always keeps me drawn in. The book she published right before this one, Missing, was the first EVER thriller book to completely freak me out to the point where I kept hearing noises outside my window while reading it. If you have not read Kelley Armstrong I highly suggest you rectify that situation. 

Overall, I gave the book 5/5 stars.


Join us on Facebook

Please wait..10 SecondsCancel
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Hello Jenny Reviews Copyright © 2010 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template Graphic from Enakei